Farewell to the Horse

THE SUNDAY TIMES HISTORY BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017 'A beautiful and thoughtful exploration of the role of the horse in creating our world' James Rebanks 'Scintillating, exhilarating ... you have never read a book like it ... a new way of considering history' Observer The relationship between horses and humans is an ancient, profound and complex one. For millennia horses provided the strength and speed that humans lacked. How we travelled, farmed and fought was dictated by the needs of this extraordinary animal. And then, suddenly, in the 20th century the links were broken and the millions of horses that shared our existence almost vanished, eking out a marginal existence on race-tracks and pony clubs. Farewell to the Horse is an engaging, brilliantly written and moving discussion of what horses once meant to us. Cities, farmland, entire industries were once shaped as much by the needs of horses as humans. The intervention of horses was fundamental in countless historical events. They were sculpted, painted, cherished, admired; they were thrashed, abused and exposed to terrible danger. From the Roman Empire to the Napoleonic Empire every world-conqueror needed to be shown on a horse. Tolstoy once reckoned that he had cumulatively spent some nine years of his life on horseback. Ulrich Raulff's book, a bestseller in Germany, is a superb monument to the endlessly various creature who has so often shared and shaped our fate.

Download Now
Author
Publisher Penguin UK
Release Date
ISBN 0241257611
Pages 464 pages
Rating 4/5 (16 users)

More Books:

Farewell to the Horse
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Ulrich Raulff
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-25 - Publisher: Penguin UK

GET EBOOK

THE SUNDAY TIMES HISTORY BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017 'A beautiful and thoughtful exploration of the role of the horse in creating our world' James Rebanks 'Scintillat
Farewell to the Horse: A Cultural History
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Ulrich Raulff
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-02-13 - Publisher: Liveright Publishing

GET EBOOK

A surprising, lively, and erudite history of horse and man, for readers of The Invention of Nature and The Soul of an Octopus. Horses and humans share an ancien
A History of Energy Flows
Language: en
Pages: 286
Authors: Anthony N. Penna
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-18 - Publisher: Routledge

GET EBOOK

This book presents a global and historical perspective of energy flows during the last millennium. The search for sustainable energy is a key issue dominating t
West River
Language: en
Pages: 370
Authors: Bill Bishop
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-17 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

GET EBOOK

West River is a tale of the last pioneers on America's western frontier and the lessons they learned. Growing up on his father's Badlands homestead, Bill Barton
Observations on popular antiquities: including the whole of mr. Bourne's Antiquitates vulgares. revised by sir H. Ellis
Language: en
Pages:
The Stolen Dragon of Quanx
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Becca Mann
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-22 - Publisher: Outskirts Press

GET EBOOK

In a land of tribes where people are defined by the color of their eyes, disaster is ready to strike. With peace barely hanging by a thread, the King of Vitchre
Sword King of Heaven
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Dong DongGeEr
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-24 - Publisher: Funstory

GET EBOOK

He was the newly risen legend of Wu Lin. He was the descendant of the mysterious and elusive Sword of Eternity, causing all of the martial artists' expressions
Ghost Dance
Language: en
Pages: 348
Authors: John Norman
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-01 - Publisher: Open Road Media

GET EBOOK

In Ghost Dance, it is through Chance’s keen eyes and weary heart that readers embark on a journey of discovery and sorrow. On the run across the plains, Chanc
The Lightless Sky
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Gulwali Passarlay
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-15 - Publisher: Atlantic Books Ltd

GET EBOOK

The boy who fled Afghanistan and endured a terrifying journey in the hands of people smugglers is now a young man intent on changing the world. His story is a d
Saddle Club 53: Horse Sitters
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Bonnie Bryant
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-30 - Publisher: Random House

GET EBOOK

Lisa Atwood is dying for a pair of chaps, Stevie Lake has her eye on a new bridle. And Carole Hanson wants the latest video on jumping techniques. Too bad The S