Shadow Man

A novel of psychological suspense about an idyllic community rocked by a serial killer—and a dark secret. “A stellar achievement, a book that unspools like a dark-toned movie in the reader’s mind.”—The Wall Street Journal (One of the Best Mysteries of the Year) Detective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown of Rancho Santa Elena in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and excellent public schools, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety. As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killer—and deal with painful episodes in the past—Ben’s own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to protect their friendship and themselves, to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret. Written in fine, chilling prose, Shadow Man reveals the treacherous underbelly of suburban life, as a man, a woman, a family, and a community are confronted with the heart of human darkness. Finalist for the SCIBA T. Jefferson Parker Award • Named One of the Best Crime Novels of the Year by The Booklist Reader

Download Now
Author
Publisher Random House
Release Date
ISBN 0812989384
Pages 368 pages
Rating 4/5 (80 users)

More Books:

Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Alan Drew
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-04 - Publisher: Atlantic Books

GET EBOOK

An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child, Karin Slaughter and Michael Connolly. Southern California, 1986. Detective Ben Wade has re
Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Jeffrey Fleishman
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-21 - Publisher: Steerforth

GET EBOOK

Foreign correspondent James Ryan was there whenever the world changed: in the Middle East, in the Balkans, in the former Soviet bloc. But now he can't remember
The Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages: 602
Authors: Karin Coddon
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-10 - Publisher: Lulu.com

GET EBOOK

Horses and Horse People. Hauntings & Secrets. They dominate and intimidate Maggie's every waking second in Del Mar's horse country--just as she attempts a last-
Unmasking the Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Debbie Herbert
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-01 - Publisher: Harlequin

GET EBOOK

In a race against time Can they defeat an unseen foe? Officer Liam Andrews knows trouble when he sees it, and trouble should be Harper Catlett’s middle name.
Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Cody McFadyen
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-06-13 - Publisher: Bantam

GET EBOOK

Once, Special Agent Smoky Barrett hunted serial killers for the FBI. She was one of the best—until a madman terrorized her family, killed her husband and daug
The Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Geoff Andrews
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-07 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

GET EBOOK

James Klugmann appears as a shadowy figure in the legendary history of the Cambridge spies. As both mentor and friend to Donald Maclean, Guy Burgess and others,
The Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Stephen Gresham
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-06 - Publisher: Crossroad Press

GET EBOOK

BEWARE THE SHADOW MAN Joey felt a chill as he stared at the luminous green dots on the screen of his *Computer*Assisted*Playmate. What did CAP know about The Sh
Men of Double Shadows
Language: en
Pages: 117
Authors: Wellington Nwogu
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

The Shadow Man
Language: en
Pages: 252
Authors: F. M. Parker
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1989 - Publisher: Signet Book

GET EBOOK

New Mexico. 1846. In the midst of the Mexican American War, legendary trapper Jacob Tamarron came to Santa Fe to find a wife and live in peace. But now a gang o
In the Shadow of Men
Language: en
Pages: 420
Authors: Darren Swart
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-12-15 - Publisher: The Wild Rose Press Inc

GET EBOOK

Marty Wood regains consciousness in an abandoned basement surrounded by the smell of death. He is drawn to Gillian, a mysterious agent assigned to protect him f